Posted on

The Day After Christmas

I have been sick with some sort of bug, and I am running on empty.  I feel guilty because I didn’t call my parents today, the day after Christmas.  This is my only day off this week. Tomorrow I work straight through until Thursday.

Christmas.  By the time I arose, I only had time to wake up, make some tea to drink with a slice of zucchini bread a client brought me with my freshly made butter, water some plants, and do 20 minutes of exercise before running out the door.  I didn’t even have time to make lunch.  I get to work and sit in my office for 20 minutes eating my lunch and dinner at 3pm.  It is arugula with pumpkin seeds, raisins, olive oil and sea salt.  It is to hold me until about midnight tonight.  I should have thrown on another handful of pumpkin seeds.  I cannot call my parents from my office because it is in the bowels of the building and I get no cell reception.  I think I will have time to call them later, but I don’t.  I get done with lunch and am running full-tilt until 9:20pm my time.  They are two hours behind.  I call them anyway to wish them a Happy Christmas.  They have gone to bed and understandably do not really wish to talk.  Even if they did, I wouldn’t be able to since I am still in the middle of things.  My mother sounds weak, but polite.  My father doesn’t hide the disappointment in his voice.  He gruffly wishes me a merry Christmas and a goodnight.  And then the line is dead.

It makes me wonder if I should have left my job to go spend Christmas with them, like I originally thought I would.

It makes me wonder if I really want to go visit them at the end of the month.

It makes me wonder if our relationship will ever be the same as it was before they came to live with me last year for two months.

I want it to go back to before that time.

I have been sick with some sort of bug, and I am running on empty.  I feel guilty because I didn’t call my parents today, the day after Christmas.  This is my only day off this week.  Tomorrow I work straight through until Thursday.

About ninasbreakfast

“Let’s take a trip, me and you, let’s go the scenic route…headlong into the irresistible orbit” –The band, Morphine https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMmsmPykxiU

2 responses to “The Day After Christmas

  1. big lame xmas hugs from here… I had a rough christmas for similar reasons, and I hated calling home. It was 7 in the morning my time and there was speakerphone and I’m always reminded of how far away they are when we call. It wasn’t really christmas, and it was back to work the next day.
    But, every year is different. And arugula is really good for you. So maybe it’s ok. Maybe it’s good to remember that we pretty much just invented the whole idea of it, it doesn’t have to be on the 25th that we feel closest.

    anyway, 1 more hug.

  2. Thank you, Elizabeth! I send you consoling Christmas and warm Full Moon hugs. It will be the most full in about an hour and twentyfive minutes from now. My patio is glowing from its light. I think I will go and sit outside and take a moon bath. Sorry to whine yesterday. I’m the only child and my parents live in another country. Even though we tell each other it is only an invented day, it used to hold so much tradition (all centered around special meals). I could tell my parents were hurt that I hadn’t called earlier on Christmas.

    I am better today. I did give them a quick call and they sounded like they loved me again.

    I adore arugula! I could eat it every meal! The salt and the fat of pumpkin seeds (high in Vit E and magnesium) helps to tide one over until the next meal.

    (((I wish you a happy transformative moon and a fabulous New Year!)))

    Again, thank you so much for your comment!

Leave a Reply

