Posted on

Lenox Bedding is Crap

Crap "Chirp" bedding by Lenox

Crap “Chirp” bedding by Lenox

Finding this cantaloupe floral pattern very cheery, I bought these sheets in the Spring.  Winter hasn’t even arrived yet, and they are already beginning to pill.   I should have known better when I saw the thread count.

I am fabulously blessed having spent copious amounts of wonderfully decadent time in bed!!!  Our beds nurture us.  Restore.  As much as I love my dinner table,  my bed is the most necessary piece of furniture I own.

Bed as dining table, I pause to photograph the deliciousness before I join my dinner companion.  Can you taste the uni?

Bed as dining table, I pause to photograph the deliciousness before I join my dinner companion. Can you taste the uni?

These thoughts in mind this morning, I clucked at the tiny winter balls forming on my spring sheets.  Smoothing the cotton,  I remembered Thierry Bouët’s gorgeous photo gallery in the Spring 2008 issue of Intelligent Life.  He photographed people with an extraordinary passion for their beds while they were lying in them.

Click photo to be taken to Thierry Bouët's website

“Chloé Blum” from the photography book, Dislits, by Thierry Bouët

Click the photo to be taken to Thierry Bouët’s website.

“Bed is where you lose consciousness, so you should put your trust in it–because it carries you while you are in oblivion.  And don’t forget the pleasure of being in bed.  It is a universal pleasure–it belongs to everyone, unless they sleep on the pavement.  And when I say pleasure, I mean sleep, dreams, love.  That is why I photographed the collection of beds I called the ‘Theatre of Dreams’.”  –Thierry Bouët

Bouët’s website is a joy.  I wish I could find a copy of the hardcover Deslits without it being $250 USD!!!

About ninasbreakfast

“Let’s take a trip, me and you, let’s go the scenic route…headlong into the irresistible orbit” –The band, Morphine https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMmsmPykxiU

3 responses to “Lenox Bedding is Crap

  1. yerpirate

    Oh a hammock is much, much better! That is real rest for the wicked!

Leave a Reply

